de | en

LIVING AND SURVIVING WITH A DISABILITY WORLDWIDE

Barriers and long cast shadows Conflict and war cast long shadows. They leave behind them bodily and emotional damage. They steal lives, futures and hope. The exhibition Barrier:Zones follows the lives of people whose fortunes were shaped or determined by conflict. Some of the wars finished decades ago, others still claim new victims today. Those portrayed are people with disabilities, fighting to lead dignified lives, each and every day. In the Gaza Strip, in refugee camps, in Congo, in the Ukraine, in the villages of Uganda, Vietnam and Laos. But also refugees in Germany and victims of war trauma in the U.S. Their lives are zones of barriers. Some they have been able to overcome. Others will still require a lot of effort to surpass. Some stories are encouraging, others are saddening. But so says Till Mayer, journalist and photographer, they all have one thing in common: "They demand our respect." The author of the exhibition has, for many years, told the stories of people with disabilities in conflict and war zones. Many of the people portrayed in the exhibition were supported by Handicap International in their fight for a dignified life. Handicap International and Author Till Mayer would like to thank the portrayed for sharing their stories with him.

 

THE PORTRAYS

Behind the pictures hide the stories of the portrayed and the barrier:zones which they surround.

 

HANDICAP INTERNATIONAL

Handicap International was founded in 1982 by two French doctors. In refugee camps in Thailand they came across 6,000 Cambodians with amputations and other severe war injuries, and who were close to completely cut off from any humanitarian assistance. Giving these people a long-term perspective by providing prosthetics and rehabilitation was what became the cornerstone of Handicap International’s work. Today, the international aid organisation is represented in about 60 countries, working on approximately 300 projects around prevention, rehabilitation and inclusion as well as the clearing of ordnances and risk education. Further, Handicap International campaigns for the rights of people with disabilities. The organisation is particularity active in promoting the international ban on mines and cluster bombs, as these weapons affect the lives of innocents even long after wars have ended. Handicap International is a founding member and chair of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997, and the Cluster Munition Coalition (CMC). In 2011, Handicap International received the Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize for its humanitarian engagement, the most prestigious award in the field.


 

THE JOURNALIST AND PHOTOGRAPHER TILL MAYER

As journalist and photographer Till Mayer has been working closely with relief organisations in war and crisis regions for many years. In his work, he often focuses on the struggle of people with disabilities. In his home town, he established the readers’ campaign “Helfen macht Spaß” (“It’s Fun to Help”) that supports people in need in collaboration with charities. As a volunteer, he also supports elderly people in need in Lviv (Ukraine). He is employed as an editor at the daily newspaper “Obermain-Tagblatt”. As a freelance photographer and journalist, he takes photos and writes for numerous newspapers, magazines as well as for Spiegel Online. For his humanitarian Engagement his was repeatedly awarded.


 

LEND THE EXHIBITION

© Hendrik Steffens / Handicap International

Please feel free to lend the photo exhibition with us and invite the author Till Mayer or our pedagogic referents to an event.

Diary

24.09.2014: Stiftungsdialog, Haus des Stiftens, Munich

27.09.2014 - 17.10.2014: Akademie für politische Bildung Tutzing - Pictures of the art opening

13.10.2014: On the occasion of the director’s change at Handicap International, Münchner Künstlerhaus – Pictures of the event

10.11.2014 - 14.11.2014: Emil von Behring Gymnasium, Spardorf

20.11.2014 - 31.12.2014: Uni Bamberg, together with Bayerisches Rotes Kreuz - Kreisverband Bamberg - Pictures of the event

10.01.2015 - 23.01.2015: Haus auf der Mauer, Jena - Pictures of the event

26.01.2015 - 06.02.2015: Städtische Berufsschule für das Hotel-, Gaststätten- und Braugewerbe, München

23.02.2015 - 13.03.2015: Carl-Bosch-Schule, Heidelberg

17.04.2015 - 08.05.2015: Gemeinschaftshaus Langwasser, Nuremberg

18.05.2015 - 22.05.2015: Business School Freising

08.06.2015 - 26.06.2015: Realschule Burgkunstadt und Gymnasium Burgkunstadt

08.07.2015 - 19.08.2015: Lebenshilfe Sonthofen

07.09.2015 - 11.09.2015: First Review Conference (1RC) to the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM), Dubrovnik, Croatia

25.09.2015 - 10.10.2015: Munich Gasteig

09.10.2015 - 10.10.2015: Humanitarian Congress Berlin

14.10.2015 - 04.12.2015: Landratsamt Lichtenfels and attached schools

01.12.2015: Social Impact Night, InterNations, Munich

05.12.2015 - 31.12.2015: Akademie für Neue Medien - Kulmbach

07.01.2016 - 07.02.2016: Erwin-Hymer-Museum in Bad Waldsee

11.02.2016 - 29.02.2016: Commercial College Erlangen

31.03.2016 - 01.04.2016: Youth in Humanitarian Action, Berlin

04.04.2016 - 06.04.2016: CSR Forum Ludwigsburg

13.04.2016 - 04.05.2016: University Eichstätt

09.05.2016 - 11.05.2016: Partizip e.V., Fair: "Inklusion Erlebnismesse", Hannover

02.06.2016 - 10.06.2016: BR Rundfunk Foyer, München

14.06.2016 - 28.06.2016: Clinicle Centre Lichtenfels

01.07.2016 - 25.08.2016: Public Library Grafing

29.09.2016 - 13.11.2016: Centre of Documentation Zeiler Hexenturm

28.11.2016 - 12.12.2016: Public Library Rosenheim

21.12.2016 - 20.01.2017: Peace Museum Meeder

30.01.2017 - 10.02.2017: Christian-Sammet-Mittelschule, Pegnitz

13.02.2017 - 24.02.2017: Gymnasium Pegnitz

01.03.2017 - 09.03.2017: Town Hall Achim

12.03.2017 - 31.03.2017: University for social art

01.04.2017 - 08.04.2017: Verden

30.03.2017 - 30.03.2017: Stiftungsfrühstück, München

12.05.2017 - 21.05.2017: The International Student Week, Ilmenau

22.05.2017 - 02.06.2017: Oskar-Sembach-Realschule, Lauf

27.05.2017 - 09.06.2017: DHBW Villingen-Schwenningen

 

CONTACT

de | en

LEBEN UND ÜBERLEBEN MIT BEHINDERUNG WELTWEIT

Konflikte und Kriege werfen einen langen Schatten. Sie hinterlassen körperlich und seelisch Versehrte. Sie rauben Leben, Zukunft und Hoffnung. Die Ausstellung „Barriere:Zonen“ portraitiert Menschen, deren Schicksal ein Konflikt prägt oder bestimmt hat. Manche der Kriege sind seit Jahrzehnten vorbei, andere fordern noch immer neue Opfer. Die Portraitierten kämpfen als Menschen mit Behinderung um ein würdiges Leben. Jeden Tag aufs Neue. Im Gaza-Streifen, im Flüchtlingslager im Kongo, in der Ukraine, in den Dörfern von Uganda, Vietnam und Laos. Aber auch als Flüchtling in Deutschland und als Kriegstraumatisierter in den USA. Ihre Lebensbereiche sind Zonen voller Barrieren. So manche konnten sie schon überwinden. Andere werden noch viel Kraft fordern. Die Portraits geben Mut, andere stimmen traurig. Eines haben sie gemeinsam. „Sie alle fordern Respekt ein“, sagt Journalist und Fotograf Till Mayer. Der Autor der Ausstellung berichtet seit vielen Jahren über Menschen mit Behinderung in Konflikten und Kriegen. Viele der in der Ausstellung Portraitierten wurden von Handicap International unterstützt – in ihrem alltäglichem Kampf für ein aufrechtes Leben. Handicap International und Autor Till Mayer bedanken sich für die Bereitschaft der Portraitierten, von ihrem Schicksal zu berichten.

 

DIE PORTRAITS

Hinter den Bildern verstecken sich die Geschichten der Portratierten und der Barriere:Zonen, die sie umgeben.

 

HANDICAP INTERNATIONAL

Handicap International wurde 1982 von zwei französischen Ärzten gegründet. Ihr Ziel: 6000 kambodschanischen Flüchtlingen mit Amputationen in Camps in Thailand durch die Versorgung mit Prothesen und durch Rehabilitation eine langfristige Perspektive zu ermöglichen. Heute ist die internationale Hilfsorganisation in rund 60 Ländern mit etwa 300 Projekten der Prävention, Rehabilitation und Inklusion sowie in der Kampfmittelräumung und Risikoaufklärung im Einsatz. Außerdem setzt sich Handicap International für die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderung ein. Insbesondere engagiert sich die Organisation für die Umsetzung des Verbots von Minen und Streubomben, da diese Waffen oft noch lange nach einem Krieg unschuldige Menschen treffen. Handicap International ist Mitgründer und Vorstand der Internationalen Kampagne gegen Landminen „ICBL“, die 1997 den Friedensnobelpreis erhielt, sowie der Koalition gegen Streubomben „CMC“. Für das humanitäre Engagement wurde Handicap International 2011 mit dem Hilton Humanitarian Prize, der höchsten Auszeichnung im humanitären Bereich, belohnt. Im Jahr 2013 haben allein 1.007.074 Menschen von den Entminungsaktionen der Hilfsorganisation profitiert. 129.572 Menschen erhielten Rehabilitationsmaßnahmen.


 

DER JOURNALIST UND FOTOGRAF TILL MAYER

Till Mayer arbeitet seit vielen Jahren als Journalist und Fotograf eng mit Hilfsorganisationen in Kriegs- und Krisengebieten zusammen. Oft richtet er dabei den Fokus seiner Arbeit auf den Überlebenskampf von Menschen mit Behinderung. In seiner Heimat hat er die Leseraktion „Helfen macht Spaß“ aufgebaut, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Wohlfahrtsverbänden Bedürftige unterstützt. Bei der Tageszeitung „Obermain-Tagblatt“ ist er als Redakteur angestellt. Als freier Fotograf und Journalist fotografiert und schreibt er für zahlreiche Zeitungen, Magazine und für Spiegel-Online. Für sein humanitäres Engagement wurde er mehrfach ausgezeichnet.


 

AUSTELLUNG AUSLEIHEN

© Hendrik Steffens / Handicap International

Gerne können Sie die Fotoausstellung bei uns ausleihen und den Autor Till Mayer oder unsere pädagogischen ReferentInnen zu einer Veranstaltung einladen.

Kalender

24.09.2014: Stiftungsdialog, Haus des Stiftens, München

27.09.2014 - 17.10.2014: Akademie für politische Bildung Tutzing
- Bilder der Vernissage

13.10.2014: Anlässlich des GeschäftsführerInnen-Wechsels bei Handicap International, Münchner Künstlerhaus - Bilder der Veranstaltung

10.11.2014 - 14.11.2014: Emil von Behring Gymnasium, Spardorf

20.11.2014 - 31.12.2014: Uni Bamberg, gemeinsam mit Bayerisches Rotes Kreuz - Kreisverband Bamberg - Bilder der Veranstaltung

10.01.2015 - 23.01.2015: Haus auf der Mauer, Jena - Bilder der Veranstaltung

26.01.2015 - 06.02.2015: Städtische Berufsschule für das Hotel-, Gaststätten- und Braugewerbe, München

23.02.2015 - 13.03.2015: Carl-Bosch-Schule, Heidelberg

17.04.2015 - 08.05.2015: Gemeinschaftshaus Langwasser, Nürnberg

18.05.2015 - 22.05.2015: Wirtschaftsschule Freising

08.06.2015 - 26.06.2015: Realschule Burgkunstadt und Gymnasium Burgkunstadt

08.07.2015 - 19.08.2015: Lebenshilfe Sonthofen

07.09.2015 - 11.09.2015: First Review Conference (1RC) to the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM), Dubrovnik, Kroatien

25.09.2015 - 10.10.2015: Gasteig München

09.10.2015 - 10.10.2015: Humanitarian Congress Berlin

14.10.2015 - 04.12.2015: Landratsamt Lichtenfels und angegliederte Schulen

01.12.2015: Social Impact Night, InterNations, Munich

05.12.2015 - 31.12.2015: Akademie für Neue Medien - Kulmbach

07.01.2016 - 07.02.2016: Erwin-Hymer-Museum in Bad Waldsee

11.02.2016 - 29.02.2016: Wirtschaftsschule Erlangen

31.03.2016 - 01.04.2016: Youth in Humanitarian Action, Berlin

04.04.2016 - 06.04.2016: CSR Forum Ludwigsburg

13.04.2016 - 04.05.2016: Universität Eichstätt

09.05.2016 - 11.05.2016: Partizip e.V., Inklusion Erlebnismesse, Hannover

02.06.2016 - 10.06.2016: BR Rundfunk Foyer, München

14.06.2016 - 28.06.2016: Klinikum Lichtenfels

01.07.2016 - 25.08.2016: Stadtbücherei Grafing

12.09.2016 - 29.09.2016: reserviert

29.09.2016 - 13.11.2016: Dokumentationszentrum Zeiler Hexenturm

28.11.2016 - 12.12.2016: VHS Rosenheim

 

 

 

Buch

Aktion Mensch hat das Buch zur Ausstellung ausführlich besprochen.

Hier können Sie das Buch bestellen.

Schulklassen erhalten einen Klassensatz zum vergünstigten Preis. Kontaktieren Sie uns einfach.

 

KONTAKT